About AOT

News Articles

AOT Expands in the Cook Islands

14th of January, 2014

The AOT Group is excited to announce that it has recently launched a new AOT presence in the Cook Islands, with Carmel Beattie being appointed as the Cook Islands’ representative for the AOT Group.

“This is the first time AOT will have a permanent and full time presence in the Cook Islands and I am confident it will deliver great results for both AOT and travellers alike” said AOT CEO Andrew Burnes.

With over 30 years’ experience in destination marketing and management, Carmel has worked in both government and private enterprise in Australia and internationally and is well known throughout the Travel industry.

Her previous roles have included Manager International at Tourism Queensland and Group Manager International at Tourism NSW as well as positions with the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Olympic Park. In 2010 she heard the call of the South Seas and relocated to the Cook Islands where she took up the position of CEO of the Cook Island Tourism Corporation.

Four years later, having left CI Tourism, she remains a ‘born again’ Cook Islander and is well and truly ensconced on the palm fringed beaches of Rarotonga.

“My love affair with the Islands has not diminished” says Carmel, “in fact I am even more dedicated to doing all I can to bring the experience of this paradise to the rest of the world.”

Carmel commenced in the role with AOT in December 2013 and is based at the Rarotonga International Airport. She will be responsible for negotiating and contracting Cook Island products for Air New Zealand Holidays, AOT Inbound and ATS Pacific.

“Carmel’s experience and insider knowledge of the Cook Islands will be invaluable in providing outstanding service and travel insight to AOT clients and customers.” said Mr Burnes.

The AOT Group is proud to be establishing new connections in the Cook Islands and looks forward to developing and promoting a local presence in this key South Pacific destination.

The AOT Group has 550 staff working across 15 offices worldwide including Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Canberra, Auckland, Nadi, Mumbai, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Jakarta, Singapore, Milan, London, Munich and Rarotonga.